Beginnings

Hello, and welcome to Musings and Experiments for Living! My name’s Caitlyn. A bit about me. I’m a student, going back to school to get a second bachelor’s degree in history and English/Creative writing education. That’s right, I’m going to teach!

I’m LDS, and my religion makes up a large part of who I am. It’s likely going to come out in the blog, so letting you know right up front. I also have depression and insomnia. While I’m receiving treatment for both, they are likely going to come into play on the blog.

I enjoy reading, cooking, Marvel movies, fantasy, sci-fi, Doctor Who, Sherlock, and traveling. I love biographies and history, random quotes, organizing, personal finance, and humor. Expect to see anything from those categories on the blog.

I’m a bit (a lot) disorganized. The depression derailed my life for several months, so I’m trying to pull my life together again. Basically I’m starting this blog to talk about  my journey as I’m trying to do that in hopes that it will help someone else. There will be experimentation as I try different things and see what works, and some days there will just be my thoughts or musings on life. Thus the title of the blog.

So there you go. I’m going to shoot for posting at least three times a week. We’ll see how this goes!

Hope you enjoy the journey!

4 thoughts on “Beginnings

  1. You’re a geek AND a school teacher? That’s a pretty awesome combination to have, especially with the newer generation having access to many of the content only ‘geeks’ had back in the day in the palm of their hands.

    Also, as a fellow blogger, I want to give you some tips about ‘staying on the bandwagon’ with your (quite interesting!) blog. Firstly, make a schedule, and stick to it (For instance, post every Thursday at 3:08AM). WordPress can autopublish at whatever time at whatever date you want, so you don’t need to physically publish your post yourself to keep to a schedule. This will both keep you in a routine and allow readers to know what to expect and when to expect.

    Secondly, make sure to interact with us, your fellow blogging community! Seek out new blogs with posts that genuinely interest you, and add your thoughts to the comment section. Who knows, maybe the author will reciprocate by taking a look at your blog and start following you. This is especially handy on blogs with 100+ followers, as the author may even feature your blog if they find it interesting enough.

    Anyway, hope these helped! Looking forward to new posts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

